HDSC logo StourSC logo HPYC


A Series of Five Races supported by
Pin Mill Sailing Club -
Royal Harwich YC - Shotley Sailing ClubHarwich and Dovercourt Sailing Club - Haven Ports YC and Stour Sailing Club

For “The Evening Star” Trophy

The essential element in the introduction of the CCRS is FUN. These races are offered to boat owners who have been put off by the hype and psychological pressure often seen to surround yacht racing and provides you with an opportunity to get the very best out of your boat.


Of the six clubs, five are each organising and hosting one of the five races to be held this season, starting and finishing in the Rivers Orwell or Stour. Entries are restricted to members of the six supporting Clubs. As in previous years, these are fun races to attract new and past participants. We continue to have the support of the “Evening Star” newspaper, which is awarding a special trophy to the winning club. Awards may also be made at the discretion of the Race Committee for individual achievement.

The first three boats from each Club to complete each race in the series will attract points according to their overall position on handicap. Points will be awarded as follows: 1st – 1 point; 2nd – 2 points; 3rd – 3 points, and so on. All races count, this changes RRS A4.The Club with the smallest total number of points will win each race. The Club with the smallest total cumulative number of points over the series will be the overall winner. Ties in scoring will be resolved as per RRS A8.

Where fewer than three yachts enter, from any one Club in any race, the absent yachts will be scored as the number of boats at the start line on the day plus 3. Yachts retiring will score the number of entries on the day plus 1

If only one vessel enters any race, the race will be void.
An additional trophy will be awarded for best yacht. Each yacht will attract points according to its overall position on handicap in each race. Points will be awarded as follows: 1st –1 point; 2nd – 2 points; 3rd – 3 points, and so on. All races to count. When a yacht is absent from a race it will be scored as the number of entries on the day plus 3. Yachts retiring will be scored the number of entries on the day plus 1.

Races will be sailed under the “Racing Rules of Sailing 2017- 2020” as amended by the Combined Clubs' River Series Sailing Instructions.

Races are open to all cruising yachts owned and helmed by members of any of the 6 participating Clubs.

Prizegiving for the overall series and best overall boat will be presented at the Shotley Sailing Club, date TBA.


Start and Finish lines will be given in the 2017 Sailing Instructions and Course Card.

 CLICK HERE for the 2017 results

2018 prize giving is to be arranged


 Click here to go to Facebook group.

Click here to download the Sailing Instructions
Click here to download the Race Entry form
Click here to view the Course Card 
To save these documents for printing, right mouse click and select "save target as..."


Tom Clayton, 159 Henley Road, Ipswich, IP1 4NU or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

to arrive as early as possible please

. (Entries may be considered up to the Thursday preceding each event entered.)
Click here to go to the on-line race entry form, or Click here to download the PDF version



CCRS events

19 May 2018;
11:00AM -
Race 1 - Hosts: Royal Harwich YC
02 Jun 2018;
11:00AM -
Race 2 - Hosts: Pin Mill SC
30 Jun 2018;
11:00AM -
Race 3 - Hosts: Harwich & Dovercourt SC
21 Jul 2018;
11:00AM -
Race 4 - Hosts: Shotley SC
01 Sep 2018;
11:00AM -
Race 5 - Hosts: Haven Ports YC

Tide times - Harwich

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine